takeover trifold brochure

Focus, Passion, and Signet Rings. 2019 Youth Conference Brochure.

Some new client work here! A few weeks ago a youth pastor in Washington D.C. commissioned me to design their youth conference brochure. The theme of the conference was from Haggai 2:23, which reads: ‘On that day,’ declares the Lord of hosts, ‘I will take you, Zerubbabel, son of Shealtiel, My servant,’ declares the Lord, ‘and I will make you like a signet ring, for I have chosen you.” That verse has some great imagery in it, and I went back and forth on how I should use it. In the end, I did a simple shape on the front, conveying the signet ring, so nothing would take away from the photos and content, which worked out great. A part of their brand uses a beautiful bold red, which I couldn’t resist as a flood color along with the powerful photos from the previous conferences. I think a lot times in design we go too far, adding too many bells and whistles to a piece, when there is a simple, striking solution that works. I loved helping this conference, and I think we landed on a great piece.